The presidential election’s results will be announced on July 21, and the new president will take office on July 25

The presidential election’s results will be announced on July 21, and the new president will take office on July 25.

On Monday, voting for the presidential election between Droupadi Murmu of the BJP-led NDA and Yashwant Sinha of the opposition came to an end. 98.9% of voters participated in the election, according to returning officer PC Mody.

According to the positions adopted by various parties, Murmu appears to be on track to become the 15th president of India, becoming the first tribal woman and the youngest person to ever hold the position at 64 years old.
According to the Election Commission’s schedule, the count of votes will occur on July 21 and the oath of office will be administered to the new president on July 25.

The Indian Election Commission said that voting took place peacefully in all of the states and union territories. Over 99 percent of the 4,796 electors on the electoral college list participated in the election, and the MLAs in Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Puducherry, Sikkim, and Tamil Nadu reported voting 100 percent of the time.
Following the polling, returning officer PC Mody reported that 728 voters—727 MPs and nine MLAs—out of the 736 who had been permitted by the Election Commission to cast ballots at the parliament building had done so.

The number of absentee votes increased from six, as reported by the returning officer, to eight after new data was compiled. Two members of parliament from the BJP and Shiv Sena as well as one each from the Congress, Shiv Sena, Samajwadi Party, Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party, and Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM decided to abstain.
Among those who voted at the parliament house were Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Congressmen Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi. State assemblies also participated in the presidential election by casting ballots.

After returning from Bali, Indonesia, where she attended the G20 Finance Ministers’ meeting, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman cast her vote while donning a complete PPE kit as she is suffering from Covid-19. According to official authorities, she got Covid-19 during her tour and is taking care to avoid spreading the illness to others. Like her, power minister RK Singh voted for the PPE kit while having a viral ailment of his own.
Manpreet Singh Ayali, a Shiromani Akali Dal MLA, declared his “boycott” of the elections due to “unresolved” Punjab-related issues before casting his ballot. He attributed the “failure to settle” these issues to both the current BJP-led state government and the previous Congress-led state government. In defiance of his party, which had stated that it supported Droupadi Murmu, Ayali declared in a video message that he would not participate in the election at the local level. Additionally, he claimed that before choosing to back Murmu, the party leadership did not contact him.
Kuldeep Bishnoi, a Congress legislator from near Haryana who cast across-vote in the Rajya Sabha choices last month, reiterated that he did it out of” heart.”. Bishnoi added,” Like Rajya Sabha, I’ve cast my vote in this election as per my heart. I’ve supported NDA seeker Droupadi Murmu.”

Murmu appears to be on track for a straightforward palm — she only needs further than 50 of the vote — as multitudinous-NDA parties have also pledged their support for her, substantially because of her ethical cooperation. She’d come as the first ethical person to serve as President of India if she were to win the election. Indeed Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, a coalition made of the Congress, decided to support Murmu, a former state governor. She is also accompanied by Uddhav Thackeray’s weak Shiv Sena in these states, which have sizable tribal communities. For instance, Murmu has the support of all parties in Andhra Pradesh.

If Murmu wins, she will become the 64-year-old youngest President in history, the first President born in Independent India, the second woman overall, and the first tribal person to hold the top office. Ram Nath Kovind, the incumbent president, whose term ends on July 24, is only the second Dalit to hold the position.
In a coalition mostly put together by West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee, Yashwant Sinha, a former bureaucrat who stayed a minister in BJP governments till a rupture a few years ago, has support from the Congress and the Left in addition to others. He was picked after the offer was turned down by three other candidates: NCP leader Sharad Pawar, former J&K CM Farooq Abdullah, and Mahatma Gandhi’s grandson Gopalkrishna Gandhi.

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *